Dinner is Up Y’all

I love more than anything to make a delish dinner for the AT (my hubs) and myself. This weekend I made some part whole wheat french bread rolls to go with AT’s favorite meatloaf supper and had about a dozen left over. Now, I think that all carb loving people can agree that nothing is better than fresh bread with a TON of butter is one of the best meals on the planet, but may not be the best for me on a daily basis. Which is why we should limit carb only meals to once a week, I know, I have some serious restraint.

Sunday I made an obscenely large pot of sausage and chicken gumbo and had some down time while the roux was turning a lovely caramel color and decided to get a head start on my cooking/prep for my dinners during the week.

I first chopped up a few veggies for multiple meals which will save me quite a bit of time during the week. I label some plastic baggies with what is inside and the recipe each is for and throw it in the crisper drawer.
Now, on to the fun part….multiple meal starters for about 15 minutes of hands on work!!! Best news ever, or at least of the day.
This meatball recipes yields about 36-40 meatballs and between the 2 of us this makes for about 4 meals. I leave out the ones we will use this week and then put about 10 in a freezer plastic bag, label them and they get put on the freezer inventory list and thrown in the deep freeze located in our garage.

With the remaining rolls, I split them down the middle and buttered them up with a little garlic salt and shredded mozzarella. Throw them in a 400• oven for about 7-10 minutes until it’s warm and the cheese is melted. Seriously delish!

Meatballs to myself and the AT are a regular occurrence in our dinner plans. Other than the traditional spaghetti and meatballs we also use them in meatloaf subs (on homemade french bread, of course) and even in a tomato based lasagna soup. I am always looking for more uses of these delectable bites, that means please share if you can think of anything else to do with these yummies!

Enjoy! Let me know how this works for you or if any questions come up.

Tape it up, AT’s wife

Ingredients:

2 pounds ground beef (Turkey is also a great alternative)
1 cup dry breadcrumbs (plain is best, so you can control the salt level)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup beef or chicken broth
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons dried parsley
1 tsp Italian herb mix
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (totally optional)
2-4 cloves minced garlic

1. Mix all ingredients together except the meat and let it hang out for about 10-15 minutes. Preheat your oven to 350
2. Gently mix in the ground meat until the seasonings are mixed completely through.
3. Using a small ice cream scoop, measure out your meatballs and place on a foil lined cookie sheet. My little scoop is about 2.5 tablespoons.
4. After measuring out the little meat blobs, take each blob and roll it around in your hands to create ball shapes.
5. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes or until they have reached an internal temperature of 165

Recipe source: adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe (http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2010/04/italian-meatball-subs.html)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

